Political and Administrative Structure

Ngora District comprises of the following Lower Local Governments and Administrative units.



Town Councils





 3 Town Councils - Ngora, Mukura and Opot 

 57 Parishes and 12 Wards

 114 villages and 33 cells







The Policy Making Organ
Ngora District Council the supreme organ, headed by the District Chairperson, is supported by an Executive committee of 4 members and 2 policy/Sectoral Committees. They deliberate policy matters and make recommendations to the full Council of 16 Councilors (8 female and 8 male).

The Sectoral Committees include:

  • Finance, Administration, Education, Health, Community Based Services, Planning and Internal Audit
  • Production (Agriculture, Veterinary, Fisheries, Forestry, Environment, Marketing and Industry and Roads and Enginearing, Water, Land, Urban Planning.

Statutory Bodies There are also Statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:

  • Contracts Committee
  • Local Government Public Accounts Committee
  • District Service Commission
  • District Land Board

A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers replaced the District Tender Board according to the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.

Office of the Resident District Commissioner
It represents the President in the District and ensures that both national and local priorities are given due consideration and are implemented in an accountable manner.

Lower Local Governments
The Town Councils, Sub counties, Parishes/Wards and villages/Cells have Councils and Executive Committees, which coordinate the various functions.